Understanding and Scoring a Swim Meet

Swimming Events
High School swimming consists of a boys team and a girls team. At a typical dual meet, each team competes in 12 events: 9 individual events and 3 relays. Up to three swimmers from each team may compete in an event. The maximum events in which a swimmer may compete is 4 events: 2 individual and 2 relays, or 1 individual and 3 relays.
Place judges determine the official finish order for all events. Points are awarded as follows:
Individual Events
1st place= 6 points
2nd place= 4 points
3rd place= 3 points
4th place= 2 points
5th place=1 point
1st place= 8 points
2nd place=4 points
3rd place= 2 points
Diving is one event in a swimmeet. Up to 3 divers may compete in an event. Dives are scored from 0-10, with a degree of difficulty factored in. Scores are added together, multiplied by the degree of difficulty, and divers are ranked 1st-6th. Points awarded for 1st through 6th place are the same as for swimming.
Points are awarded as follows:
10-9= Exceptional
8 1/2-7 1/2= Excellent
5 1/2-41/2=Satisfactory
4-2 1/2=Deficient
0=Failed Dive